The Spandan Youth Summit 2009
"A Tri Continental" initiative
9th – 25th October 2009
 
Participants of Myllharjun Lukio - Finland
 

    My name is Erika Piipponen and I live in Finland, Loviisa. My intention is to take part in YS '09 in India and I'll tell you a couple of words about me.

    I'm a positive and open-hearted girl, sometimes I like to go wild but mostly I'm very thoughtful and "the listener". On the other side, in a group, either I'm being give the role of the leader or take it myself. I have a good sense of humor, at least if you ask me :) .

    I live in a little and old detached house in a little village nearby Loviisa with my mother, father and a little sister (she's 12 years old). I'm 18 years old, I have my own car and though I live pretty independent life I still have very warm relations with my family. I also have a very loving boyfriend and wonderful friends.

    Things I like to do in my life, besides being with my loved ones, are reading (the absolute number 1!), singing and playing the guitar, cooking and going to gym. Now I'm pretty much wondering if I'm writing too much, but I think it's hard to describe personality with just some basic things listed.

    And what fascinates me about India, is its culture that is so different from ours here in Finland. It's my passion to travel, it's just that our family hasn't had any extra money for it. I have worked to have the opportunity to see different countries and meet different people, and now that it's possible I'm just so exited!

    I'm sending a picture of me as an attachment, it's not the newest but in any case.. I'm the one on the right side of the picture, with light brown hair and a pink jacket.

    Best wishes,
    Erika

 

    My name is Taina Andersson. I am 54 years old female art teacher. I teach art at Myllyharju comprehensive and secondary upper school in Loviisa. I have three children and they are all allready styding in Helsinki in the university.

    I am very much interested in art and culture. Art history is my passion and of course - I am very very interested in Indian visual arts, theatre and dance. And because I really hope that the following generations have a possibility to live on this earth I`m worried about environment and social guestions.

    Two female students, Peppi and Erika, are coming whit me to India. We have plans to take cameras, sketch-books and pencils whit us. Perhaps we have time to take photous and sketch while being there so that we can have an exhibition here in Finland. That would be one way to tell about India to other students and teachers in our school.

    I am looking forward to see your country.

    Yours sincerely

    Taina Andersson

 

    I'm Peppi O'Connor, a 16 year old girl, and one of the Finnish students, who excitedly awaits, traveling to India.

    Our headmistress (Eveliina Passi) encouraged us to contact you and tell a little bit about ourselves. So here's something about me:

    I can be shy and terribly timid, at times.

    I've got two little brothers, and live in the countryside with my family and a litter of kittens.

    I love to read. Lately, I've been very interested in literature from the late 1800s. Unfortunately I never seem to be able to read as much as I'd like to. And my book list does nothing but expand...

    I also like to draw, write prose poetry, watch films, listen to music and eat.

    I have always held an interest towards India.

    I remember borrowing enormous volumes, on your country and culture, from the library, a few years back (I was fascinated by the amount of different religions and languages, over there) Sadly most of what I read then, seems to have slipped from my mind... as things often do.

    But I do remember staring at the pictures in the books :D

    This might sound dumb, but the COLORS in your landscapes and foods and such, are extremely beautiful. And I can't wait to be able to experience and see India, for real.

    ~ Peppi